

FILED

DEC 1 5 2004

COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE STATE OF KANSAS

Sandy Praeger COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE

November 29, 2004

Gary Lee Dudley P.O. Box 795027 San Antonio, Texas 78279-5027

Docket No. 3415-A

Re: Excess/Surplus Lines Reporting Requirements; Untimely Filing

Dear Agent:

Kansas Insurance Department (KID) records indicate that you filed the required information and paid premium tax required by K.S.A. 40-246c on March 4, 2004. Pursuant to K.S.A. 40-246c, the amount of premium tax is doubled if the premium tax is not paid on or before March 1.

By this letter, you are assessed a penalty of 100% of the amount of the premium tax due, or \$261.22. However, in light of the severity of the statutory penalty in relation to the amount of time between the deadline and your filing, the Commissioner is willing to waive up to 99% of the penalty if you pay the greater of \$100 or 1% of the amount of premium tax within 15 days of the date of this letter. If you have not either remitted the penalty or requested a hearing by the close of business on the 15<sup>th</sup> day after the date of this letter (or the first business day following the 15<sup>th</sup> day if the 15<sup>th</sup> day is not a business day), your excess lines and Kansas insurance agent's licenses will be suspended until such time as you pay the full amount of the penalty.

Unless you request a hearing, this letter will become a final agency action at the close of business on the 15<sup>th</sup> day after the date of this letter. Should you choose to request a hearing, you may direct a written request for hearing to John W. Campbell, General Counsel, Kansas Insurance Department, 420 SW 9<sup>th</sup> Street, Topeka, KS 66612. Mr. Campbell is also the agency officer designated pursuant to K.S.A. 77-613(e) to receive service on behalf of KID of a petition for judicial review.

Sincerel

Staff Attorney

Cc: Pete Tavares
Leroy Brungardt