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      October 27, 2004 
 
Ralph E. Wentworth 
Wentworth-DeAngelis, Inc. 
74 Batterson Park Road 
Farmnington, CT  06034                     
                  
 Re: Policy # ERC5977179-00, ICA Mortgage Capital, LLC 

NOTICE OF VIOLATION, PENALTY, & RIGHT TO HEARING 
 
Dear Agent: 
 
 Kansas Insurance Department (KID) records indicate that you filed an application 
for a Kansas nonresident insurance agent’s license and an excess lines license on 
September 5, 2003, and were issued the licenses effective September 8 (agent) and 
September 9 (excess lines).  It appears that you placed the above-referenced coverage on 
a Kansas risk effective August 18, 2003, prior to obtaining the required licenses, in 
violation of K.S.A. 40-246b.   
 

“The commissioner may, in the manner prescribed by law, revoke or suspend the 
license of any agent issued pursuant to sections 40-241 and 40-246 [superceded by 40-
4901 et seq.] of the Kansas Statutes Annotated when such agent shall engage in any 
transaction permitted only to licensees under the provisions of K.S.A. 40-246b, without 
first obtaining the license as required by K.S.A. 40-246b.”  K.S.A. 40-246d.  K.S.A. 40-
246b defines requirements for obtaining a license to place risks with nonadmitted insurers 
and reporting obligations for excess lines agents. 
 

Alternatively, pursuant to K.S.A. 2003 Supp. 40-4909(h), the Commissioner may 
impose an administrative penalty of $500, or $1000 for a knowing violation, upon a 
finding that an agent has violated any provision of Chapter 40 of the Kansas Statutes 
Annotated. 
 
 By this letter, you are directed to remit to the Kansas Insurance Department $500 
as a penalty for violation of K.S.A. 40-246b.  If you have not either complied or 
requested a hearing by the close of business on the 15th day after the date of this letter (or 
the first business day following the 15th day if the 15th day is not a business day), an order 
will be entered suspending your excess lines and Kansas insurance agent’s licenses until 
such time as you pay the full amount of the penalty.  Unless you request a hearing, this 

FILED 
11-09-2004 

Commissioner of Insurance
State of Kansas 



letter will become a final agency action at close of business on the 15th day after the date 
of this letter. 
 
 You have a right to a hearing before imposition of a penalty.  You may direct a 
written request for hearing to John W. Campbell, General Counsel, Kansas Insurance 
Department, 420 SW 9th Street, Topeka, KS  66612.  Mr. Campbell is also the agency 
officer designated pursuant to K.S.A. 77-613(e) to receive service on behalf of KID of a 
petition for judicial review. 
 
      Sincerely, 
 
      /s/ Brenda J. Clary 
 
      Brenda J. Clary 
      Staff Attorney 
 
Cc: Pete Tavares 
 LeRoy Brungardt 


