
 

BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE 
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

 
In the Matter of the Kansas Resident   ) 
Insurance Agency’s License of    )  Docket No. 4211-SO 
VALORE TITLE LLC  # 205876867 - 000 ) 
 
 

CONSENT ORDER 
 

The Commissioner of Insurance (“Commissioner”) the Kansas Insurance 

Department (“KID”) and Valore Title LLC (“Valore”) wish to resolve the above-captioned 

matter before the Commissioner without formal adjudication. 

The Commissioner hereby issues the following Order which shall become 

effective as a Final Order, without further notice, upon the expiration of the fifteen (15) 

day period if no request for hearing is made pursuant to K.S.A. 77-542. 

Findings of Fact 
 

The parties stipulate that if a hearing were conducted in this matter evidence 

could be adduced by KID and, although neither admitted nor denied by Valore, it would 

be recognized as admissible to show the following: 

 

1. Records maintained by the Kansas Insurance Department (“KID”) indicate that 

Valore Title LLC is licensed as a resident title agency to transact the business of title 

insurance in the State of Kansas, and has been so licensed since December 20, 2006.  

KID records further indicate a legal address and a mailing address of 5350 College 

Blvd., #202, Overland Park, KS 66211. 

2. The Commissioner of Insurance (“the Commissioner”) has jurisdiction over the 

subject matter of this proceeding, and this proceeding is held in the public interest. 
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3. On or about December 20, 2006, Respondent was issued a Kansas resident 

agency license. 

4. On or about December 20, 2006, Respondent provided to KID a legal and 

mailing address of 5350 College Blvd., #202, Overland Park, KS 66211. 

5. On or about May 4, 2010, KID notified Respondent that K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 40-

1137 had been amended and required Respondent to file annual audits of escrow, 

settlement and closing accounts with KID within 30 days after the close of the calendar 

year. 

6. On or about July 20, 2010, KID again notified Respondent that KID had not 

received the audit and offered the Respondent another opportunity to present facts or 

arguments if it disagreed with any of the facts or legal conclusions set forth in this Order 

and that letter.  

7.  KID has received an audit from Respondent for the calendar year 2009. 

 

Applicable Law 
 
 
8. Kansas Statutes Annotated (“K.S.A.”) 2009 Supp. 40-1137(b)  

states, in relevant part: 
(e)   Each title insurance agent shall have an annual audit made of its escrow, 

settlement and closing deposit accounts, conducted by a certified public 
accountant or by a title insurer for which the title insurance agent has a 
licensing agreement. The title insurance agent shall provide a copy of the 
audit report to the commissioner within 30 days after the close of the 
calendar year for which an audit is required. 
  
 

9. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 40-4909 states, in relevant part: 
(a) The commissioner may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse renewal of 

any license issued under this act if the commissioner finds that the 
applicant or license holder has: 
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(2) Violated: 
 
 (A)  Any provision of chapter 40 of the Kansas Statutes 

Annotated, and amendments thereto, or any rule and regulation 
promulgated thereunder. 

 
   (f)     Whenever the commissioner imposes any administrative penalty or 

denies, suspends, revokes or refuses renewal of any license pursuant to 
subsection (a), any costs incurred as a result of conducting an 
administrative hearing authorized under the provisions of this section shall 
be assessed against the person who is the subject of the hearing or any 
business entity represented by such person who is the party to the matters 
giving rise to the hearing. As used in this subsection, "costs" shall include 
witness fees, mileage allowances, any costs associated with the 
reproduction of documents which become a part of the hearing record and 
the expense of making a record of the hearing.  
 

             (h)    In lieu of taking any action under subsection (a), the commissioner may:  
 
(2)    issue an order imposing an administrative penalty up to a maximum 

of $500 for each violation but not to exceed $2,500 for the same 
violation occurring within any six consecutive calendar months from 
the date of the original violation unless such person knew or should 
have known that the violative act could give rise to disciplinary 
action under subsection (a). If such person knew or reasonably 
should have known the violative act could give rise to any 
disciplinary proceeding authorized by subsection (a), the 
commissioner may impose a penalty up to a maximum of $1,000 
for each violation but not to exceed $5,000 for the same violation 
occurring within any six consecutive calendar months from the date 
of the imposition of the original administrative penalty.  

 
 
 
 

Conclusions of Law 

Based upon the above Findings of Fact and Applicable Law the Commissioner 

determines that it is in the public interest to issue the following order: 

 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED BY THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE 

THAT: 
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1. Valore neither admits nor denies the allegations set forth in the above 

Findings of Fact. 

2. Valore agrees to make a payment to KID in the amount of Five Hundred 

Dollars ($500.00). 

3.  Upon this Consent Order becoming a Final Order and payment received, 

this action shall be dismissed with prejudice. If payment is not made as required, KID 

may vacate this Consent Order and proceed with hearing. 

 

Notice of Right to Hearing or Appeal 

You are entitled to a hearing pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 77-537, the Kansas 

Administrative Procedure Act and K.S.A. 40-955. If you desire a hearing, you must file a 

written request for a hearing with: 

John W. Campbell, General Counsel 
Kansas Insurance Department 

420 S.W. 9th Street 
Topeka, Kansas 66612. 

 
This request must be filed within fifteen (15) days from the date of service of this 

Order.  If you request a hearing, the Kansas Insurance Department will notify you of the 

time and place of the hearing and information on the procedures, right of representation, 

and other rights of parties relating to the conduct of the hearing, before commencement 

of same. 

If a hearing is not requested in the time and manner stated above, this Order 

shall become effective as a Final Order upon the expiration of time for requesting a 

hearing, pursuant to K.S.A. 77-613. In the event that you file a petition for judicial 
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review, pursuant to K.S.A. 77-613(e), the agency officer to be served on behalf of the 

Kansas Insurance Department is: 

John W. Campbell, General Counsel 
Kansas Insurance Department 

420 S.W. 9th Street 
Topeka, Kansas 66612. 

 
 
 

 
IT IS SO ORDERED THIS __15th__ DAY OF _November_, 2010, IN THE CITY 

OF TOPEKA, COUNTY OF SHAWNEE, STATE OF KANSAS. 

 

_/s/ Sandy Praeger________________ 
     Sandy Praeger 

    Commissioner of Insurance 
 

     BY: 
 
 
     _/s/ John W. Campbell_____________ 
     John W. Campbell 
     General Counsel 

 
 
Approved and Submitted by: 
 
 
 
_/s/ John Wine________________ 
John Wine 
Staff Attorney 
 

 

_/s/ Kris Plumhoff______________ 
Kris Plumhoff 
Valore Title LLC
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Certificate of Service 

The undersigned hereby certifies that a true and correct copy of the above and 
foregoing Consent Order was served by placing the same in the United States Mail, first 
class postage prepared, on this _15th___ day of ___Nov.__, 2010, addressed to the 
following: 
 

Mr. Kris Plumhoff 
Valore Title LLC 
5350 College Boulevard, #202 
Overland Park, KS 66211 
 
 

 
       _/s/ John Wine____________ 

John Wine 
Staff Attorney 
 


