BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

In the Matter of )

)
UNITED LENDER SERVICES CORP ) Docket No. 4223-CO
FEIN #204070174-000 )

CONSENT ORDER

The Kansas Insurance Department (“KID”) and United Lender Services Corp.
(“ULS”) wish to resolve the above-captioned matter before the Commissioner of
Insurance without formal adjudication by entering into this Consent Order. The
Commissioner of Insurance (“Commissioner”) hereby makes the following Findings of
Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Orders. This Consent Order shall become effective as a
Final Order, without further notice, upon the expiration of the fifteen (15) day period if no

request for hearing is made, pursuant to K.S.A. 877-542.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The parties stipulate that if a hearing were conducted in this matter, the following
evidence could be adduced by the Commissioner, and although neither admitted nor

denied by ULS, would be recognized as admissible to show the following:

1. ULS became a licensed non-resident title insurance agency and therefore

authorized to issue title insurance in Kansas on January 7, 2008.

2. Filing information was provided to ULS in January, 2008.



3. KID received an audit report on April 9, 2009, filed by Old Republic National Title
Insurance Company as required by K.S.A. 40-1137 indicating that ULS was writing

title insurance policies in Kansas.

4. KID discovered that ULS had not filed its bond or filed its rates and audits with KID

and notified ULS of this failure to file on or about May 24, 2010.

5. Upon the request of KID, on or about July 28, 2010, ULS submitted a listing of all

policies that had been written in the State of Kansas during 2008, 2009 and 2010.

6. On or about July 28, 2010, ULS submitted the required bond and a copy of its rates

and charges.

APPLICABLE LAW

K.S.A. 40-1139 requires title insurers handling escrow, settlement or closing
accounts to “ ... file with the commissioner a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit in

a form acceptable to the commissioner ....”

K.S.A. 40-952(c) prohibits any charge for title insurance for transactions in
counties having a population of 10,000 or more unless the rate and other specified

documents have been filed with KID.

K.S.A. 40-1141 provides that if the commissioner determines that the title
insurance agent has violated this act ... the commissioner may order that such person

be subject to the penalties provided in K.S.A. 40-2406 et seq.



Violations of the above statutes authorize actions under the following Kansas

statutes:

K.S.A. 840-2407(a)(1) authorizes the Commissioner to order payment of
penalties up to $1,000 for each violation ($5,000 if reasonably should have known) with
an aggregate penalty of $10,000 (“ ... but not to exceed an aggregate of $50,000 in any

six-month period.”).

K.S.A. 840-2407(a)(2) authorizes the Commissioner to suspend or revoke a person’s

license “ ... if the person reasonably should have known such person was in violation of

the act.”

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

IT IS THEREFORE, AGREED UPON BY THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE

AND ULS:

1. ULS has submitted the required rates and charges, bond and audits to KID in

satisfaction of the Kansas statutes and regulations.

2. The inadvertent failure to file of ULS was not done with knowledge that same was a

violation of the act.

3. Upon receiving notification of its inadvertent failure to file, ULS complied fully and in

a timely manner with the requests of KID.



4. ULS agrees to make a payment of Five Hundred Dollars and 00/100 ($500.00) to

KID.

5. Upon this Consent Order becoming a Final Order and payment received, this action

shall be dismissed with prejudice.

6. If payment is not made as required, KID may vacate and/or declare this Consent

Order void and proceed with a hearing.

Notice of Right to Hearing or Appeal

You are entitled to a hearing pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 77-537, the Kansas
Administrative Procedure Act and K.S.A. 40-955. If you desire a hearing, you must file a
written request for a hearing with:

John W. Campbell, General Counsel
Kansas Insurance Department
420 S.W. 9th Street
Topeka, Kansas 66612.

This request must be filed within fifteen (15) days from the date of service of this
Order. If you request a hearing, the Kansas Insurance Department will notify you of the
time and place of the hearing and information on the procedures, right of representation,
and other rights of parties relating to the conduct of the hearing, before commencement
of same.

If a hearing is not requested in the time and manner stated above, this Order

shall become effective as a Final Order upon the expiration of time for requesting a

hearing, pursuant to K.S.A. 77-613. In the event that you file a petition for judicial



review, pursuant to K.S.A. 77-613(e), the agency officer to be served on behalf of the
Kansas Insurance Department is:
John W. Campbell, General Counsel
Kansas Insurance Department

420 S.W. 9th Street
Topeka, Kansas 66612.

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS __10th___ DAY OF November, 2010, IN THE CITY

OF TOPEKA, COUNTY OF SHAWNEE, STATE OF KANSAS.

_Is/ Sandy Praeger
Sandy Praeger
Commissioner of Insurance

BY:

ACT APPROVED
MARCH 1, 1871

or KANSPED _Is/ John W. Campbell
John W. Campbell

General Counsel

Approved and Submitted by:

/s/ John Wine
John Wine
Staff Attorney

_Is/ Robert D. Franco
Robert D. Franco, COO
United Lender Services Corp




CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that above and foregoing Consent Order was
served via the United States Postal Service, first-class postage prepaid, on this

day of , 2010, addressed to the following:

Ms. Carla Roell

United Lender Services Corp
2000 Cliffmine Road, Suite 610
Pittsburgh, PA 15275

John Wine
Staff Attorney



