
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 

January 4, 2023 
 
 
Root Enterprise, LLC. 
80 E. Rich Street Suite 500 
Columbus, OH  43215 
 
 
Re: Rating Organization License  
 

ACTION REQUIRED 
 
The Kansas Insurance Department (“Department”) previously mailed the Application for Renewal 
of the Licensing as a Rating Organization. The Department still has not received the required 
application and fee from your entity. Your license has been revoked/suspended. 
 
Kansas law provides, in part: 
 

40-956. Same; rating organizations; licensure, fee, suspension or revocation; subscriber 
discrimination and certain rules prohibited; examinations, costs; authorized cooperation 
and transactions.  (a) Any corporation, association, partnership or individual whether 
located in or out of the state, may apply for license as a rating organization for such kinds 
of insurance or subdivisions thereof as are specified in its application and shall file 
therewith: (1) A copy of its constitution, articles of agreement or association or certificate 
of incorporation, and its bylaws and rules governing the conduct of its business; (2) a list 
of its members and subscribers; (3) the name and address of a resident of the state upon 
whom service of process or orders of the commissioner may be served and an irrevocable 
agreement to accept such service or notices; and (4) a statement of its qualification as a 
rating organization. Every rating organization shall notify the commissioner promptly of 
every change in its organizational structure, members or subscribers and the person upon 
whom service or notices may be made. If the commissioner finds the applicant is qualified, 
the commissioner shall issue a license specifying the kinds of insurance or subdivisions 
thereof for which the applicant is authorized to act as a rating organization. Every such 
application shall be granted or denied in whole or in part by the commissioner within 60 
days of the date of its filing. Licenses issued pursuant to this section shall continue in force 
until May 1 next after their date unless suspended or revoked by the commissioner. The 
fee for such license shall be $25 annually. Licenses issued pursuant to this section may be 
suspended or revoked by the commissioner, after hearing upon notice, in the event the 
rating organization ceases to meet the requirements of this section. 
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… 
 

K.S.A. 40-2,125 provides, in part: 

(a) If the commissioner determines after notice and opportunity for a hearing that any 
person has engaged or is engaging in any act or practice constituting a violation of any 
provision of Kansas insurance statutes or any rule and regulation or order thereunder, the 
commissioner may in the exercise of discretion, order any one or more of the following: 

(1) Payment of a monetary penalty of not more than $1,000 for each and every act 
or violation, unless the person knew or reasonably should have known such person 
was in violation of the Kansas insurance statutes or any rule and regulation or order 
thereunder, in which case the penalty shall be not more than $2,000 for each and 
every act or violation; 
(2) suspension or revocation of the person's license or certificate if such person 
knew or reasonably should have known that such person was in violation of the 
Kansas insurance statutes or any rule and regulation or order thereunder; or 
(3) that such person cease and desist from the unlawful act or practice and take such 
affirmative action as in the judgment of the commissioner will carry out the 
purposes of the violated or potentially violated provision. 

 
ORDER 

 
IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED BY THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE THAT: 
 
Based on the foregoing, the Commissioner finds that you knowingly offered or provided rating 
organization services without a valid license in accordance with K.S.A 40-956, and amendments 
thereto; and that you willfully violated K.S.A. 40-956(a). 

 
Based on the foregoing, the Commissioner finds that imposition of penalties is appropriate. 
Therefore, pursuant to K.S.A. 40-956, the Commissioner orders you to remit a renewal application 
and fee along with a $500 fine within thirty (30) days after service of this order. 
 
The Commissioner also orders you to cease and desist from providing rating organization services 
until such time as you obtain a current, in force license. 
 
If you do not want to pursue renewal of your license, you shall notify the Department within thirty 
(30) days after service of this order.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

STIPULATION 
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Alternatively, you may agree to the findings, facts, and conclusions stated above and waive your 
rights to a hearing and judicial review of the order imposing a fine. If you agree, initial the line 
below, print your name, sign, and date, and return the form and fine to the Kansas Insurance 
Department. You still must obtain a valid license prior to resuming rating organization services. 
 
______  I stipulate and agree to the above findings, facts, and conclusions of law and acknowledge 
and waive my rights to administrative hearing and judicial review of the Commissioner’s Order. 
This means the above order shall become effective as a final order without further notice.  
 
___________________________ ___________________________ _______________ 
Printed Name               Signature    Date 

 
___________________________ 
Title 

 
 
 

NOTICES 
 
Within fifteen (15) days of service of this Order, you may file with the Kansas Insurance 
Department a written request for hearing on this Order, as provided by K.S.A. 77-542. In the event 
a hearing is requested, such request should be directed to: 
 

Mindy Forrer 
Kansas Insurance Department 
1300 SW Arrowhead Road 
Topeka, Kansas 66604 

 
Pursuant to K.S.A. 77-601 et seq., you are entitled to judicial review of this order upon it becoming 
a final order. The petition for judicial review must be filed in the district court within thirty (30) 
days of service of this order. In the event you file a petition for judicial review pursuant to K.S.A. 
77-613(e), the Agency Officer to be served on behalf of the Kansas Insurance Department is:  

 
 
Justin L. McFarland, General Counsel  
Kansas Insurance Department  
1300 SW Arrowhead Rd 
Topeka, KS 66604 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 



Page 4 

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 4th DAY OF JANUARY, 2023, IN THE CITY OF TOPEKA, 
COUNTY OF SHAWNEE, STATE OF KANSAS. 
 
 

   Vicki Schmidt 
Commissioner of Insurance 

 
   BY: 

 
 

 
____________________________________ 

   Justin L. McFarland, General Counsel 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 

 The undersigned hereby certifies that she served a true and correct copy of the above and 
foregoing Order on this 4th day of January, 2023 by causing the same to be placed in the United 
States Mail, first class postage prepaid, addressed to the following: 
 
Root Enterprise, LLC. 
80 E. Rich Street Suite 500 
Columbus, OH  43215 
 
and via email to: 
juemin.zhang@joinroot.com; grace.ahlgrim@joinroot.com 
 
 
 

_____________________________ 
              Toni Garrard 
 Senior Administrative Specialist
 


