Kansas Department of Insurance

Instructions for Online Surplus Lines Statement & Policy Reporting Form (PRF) to be completed annually by surplus lines agents licensed in Kansas

All agents who currently hold or held a Kansas surplus lines license at any time during the prior calendar year may be required to complete and submit this form and PRF online no later than March 1st of each year. Agents must login to <u>Surplus Lines Tax Filing System</u> to complete and submit the online form.

If you have not logged in before, go to https://insurance.ks.gov/desktop/SLTax/signup.php Complete the screens to sign up for your account. Note that you must know your National Producer Number (NPN) to complete the screens. Your NPN will be your Surplus Lines Tax Filing System login ID. You must provide a current email address if you forget your password and to receive other important notices and information.

NEW FOR 2024 TAX REPORTING:

Effective July 12, 2024, if a surplus lines agent has written no business during the previous year, there would be no requirement to file an affidavit or annual statement with the Department.

The 2023 legislature passed a law lowering the surplus lines tax rate from 6% to 3% for tax years 2024 and after.

The new rate of 3% will apply to policies effective on or after January 1, 2024, and to any endorsements to those policies. All new and renewal policies effective prior to January 1, 2024, and any subsequent endorsements on those policies will still be taxed at the original rate of 6%.

Examples include:

- **Example One:** The tax rate for a policy with an effective date of 10/01/2023 is 6% of the total gross premium. An additional premium endorsement to this policy with an endorsement effective date of 06/01/2024 is also 6%. If a cancellation takes place with an effective date of 08/01/2024, the credit is 6% of the returned premium.
- **Example Two:** The tax for a policy with an effective date of 01/01/2024 is 3% of the total gross premium. An additional premium endorsement to the policy with an endorsement effective date of 06/01/2024 is also 3%. If a cancellation takes place with an effective date of 08/01/2024, the credit is 3%.

The Form PRF/OA (Policy Reporting Form, place through other agents) has been discontinued. The information previously captured on this form can be included on the updated PRF (policy reporting form).

POLICY REPORTING FORM (PRF) 2024 SPREADSHEET:

The 2024 PRF must be submitted with the return filing. The current PRF is available for download at the login screen and again in Step 1 of the filling. A previous year PRF will not be accepted. The 2024 PRF includes columns for both tax rates that may be applicable with the filing. The PRF uses the effective date to determine which tax rate will be used to calculate the tax due. Please use the following format when completing the PRF:

Policy Endorsement or Cancellation - If the endorsement or cancellation is for a policy that was issued

prior to the 1-1-24 tax rate change, you will need to enter the effective date of the original policy. In column L (Notes) indicate the actual endorsement or cancellation date.

- Endorsement Example The original policy was issued on 9-10-23 (6% tax) and a \$2,000 endorsement was written on 4-15-24. The endorsement policy is entered with an effective date of 9-10-23 with the endorsement date of 4-15-24 listed in column L (Notes). The tax due will calculate as \$120.00.
- For example, the original policy was issued 10-1-23 (6% tax) and was cancelled on 3-1-24 with \$2,000 in cancelled premiums. The cancellation policy is entered with an effective date of 10-1-23 with the cancellation date of 3-1-24 listed in column L (Notes). The tax credit will calculate as \$120.00.

IF YOU HAVE DIRECT PLACEMENTS TO REPORT FOR THE TAX YEAR:

STEP 1 – COMPLETING THE ELECTRONIC POLICY REPORTING FORM (PRF) FOR ALL POLICIES:

If you have directly placed business during the tax year, you must complete the electronic Policy Reporting Form (PRF) to enter your policies. The Excel spreadsheet PRF V.1.YY(reporting year) provided must be used. Respond "Yes" to the question "Do you have premiums charged?" and a CHOOSE FILE button will appear to select the PRF spreadsheet created. Make sure to use the UPLOAD FILE button after the file is selected. There will be a message that the file has been successfully uploaded. The spreadsheet is necessary for the filing to be considered complete.

Enter the total gross premiums charged in the provided boxes. Be sure to separate the total premiums according to the correct amount of premium tax that will be charged. The total of these two amounts should equal the total amount from the Premium and Fees Charged Column I on the PRF spreadsheet.

<u>STEP 2 – REQUIRED CERTIFICATIONS:</u> Go to Step 2 and click each certification checkbox. If you had placements through other agents, you are required to keep and maintain a record of such placements. If you are completing the online surplus lines statement and Policy Reporting Form (PRF) on behalf of the agent, please include your name and contact information. This information will only be saved on the form at the time of submission. Step 2 certifications and responses are required of all surplus line agents licensed in Kansas. Note these certifications and responses will only be saved on the form at the time of submission.

<u>STEP 3 – SUBMISSION OF STATEMENT AND PAYMENT OF TAXES:</u> Review all data entered in Step 1. You must upload the Policy Reporting Form (PRF) in Step 1 or your submission will not be complete. Review Step 2 to be sure all certifications have been answered.

From the data entered in Step 1, your tax owed will be displayed. You will be directed to a payment screen after pressing submit. You then have the option of paying by ACH electronic check (a \$3.00 processing fee will be charged), or for up to \$10,000 with a credit card (a \$3.00 processing fee and convenience fees apply). If using eCheck, be sure your bank allows Kansas.gov, Origination ID 1481120617 to debit the account.

Follow the payment prompts which redirects to the State of Kansas' online payment service (Kansas.gov). **You must submit payment electronically before the return submission is complete.** Complete all required information and submit payment, after which you will receive a success message.

Filing this form on or after the due date will result in the applicable tax rate(s) being doubled pursuant to K.S.A. 40-246-c. The return calculator will only calculate the single tax rate. If there are additional taxes due to the late filing, you will be notified of the additional amount, applicable penalty, and a timeframe within which to 12/2024

make the payment.

IF YOU NEED TO AMEND YOUR RETURN AFTER SUBMISSION: If you need to amend your return after filing, please send an email to KDOI.ExLines@ks.gov. Explain your need to amend and the filing will be reopened. The amended return should be filed for the difference in premiums not reported on the original return. An updated Policy Reporting Form (PRF) should also be submitted. Payment is due when filing the return. You will be notified of any additional tax due or applicable penalty, and a timeframe within which to make the payment.

Any questions can be sent to the Rate and Form Compliance Division at <u>KDOI_R&FComp@ks.gov</u> or 785-296-7844.