
Instructions for requesting a criminal background check 

Effective February 1, 2018, applicants for a resident insurance producer/agent license will be required to 
submit their fingerprints for state and national criminal history background checks. 

Fingerprint cards may be requested from the Kansas Insurance Department at the following link or by 
emailing a request to KID.Licensing@ks.gov.   

Download the Waiver Agreement and Statement form.  The waiver form is required for all fingerprint 
record checks.  A section on page two of the form must be completed by the fingerprinting agency, so 
THE APPLICANT MUST TAKE THE FORM WITH THEM WHEN THEY ARE BEING 
FINGERPRINTED.   

1. Fill out the card.
• Complete name (including aliases, maiden, previous married), mailing address, social

security number, citizenship, and personal information (sex, race, height, weight,
eyes, hair, place of birth, date of birth)

• DO NOT SIGN THE CARD YET – this will be done in front of the law
enforcement officer.
The space for OCA, FBI, and MNU numbers may be left blank if you do not have
one of those numbers.

• Cards with missing or incomplete information will be rejected
• See FAQ – fingerprinting for additional guidance.

2. Have your prints taken:  (A qualified law enforcement officer must take your fingerprints)
• Contact your local law enforcement agency before you go!
• Take the filled out card and waiver form to your local police station or sheriff’s

office.
• Take at least one form of picture identification with you.
• Some law enforcement agencies may charge a fee to take your prints.
• Sign the card in front of the officer taking your prints.
• The officer taking the prints will need to complete the section on page two of the

waiver form.
• Digital prints are accepted as long as they are in the FD258 format.

3. Mail the card and waiver form:
• Provide the law enforcement officer with a stamped envelope addressed to: Kansas

Insurance Department, Attn: Producer Licensing, 1300 SW Arrowhead Road,
Topeka, KS 66604 to mail your fingerprint card or electronic scan and waiver form.

• In addition, you may want to use a mailing service that allows delivery confirmation
to confirm your fingerprint card and waiver form have been received at the Kansas
Insurance Department.

• Bent and folded cards will NOT be accepted and a new fingerprint card will be
mailed to you for prints to be taken again.

4. The fingerprint cards will not be processed or submitted to the KBI/FBI until a completed NAIC
Uniform Application for Individual Producer License form has been submitted and appropriate
fees collected.  The application fee is $30.00 and the fingerprint background check fee is $60.00.
These fees will be collected when completing the online application form.

• Apply Online via Producer Desktop

https://insurance.ks.gov/agentagency/agent-licensing/req-fingerprint.php
mailto:KID.Licensing@ks.gov
https://towerii.ksinsurance.org/kid/agentapplicationrequest.do

