CHECKLIST: KANSAS INITIAL RESIDENT PRODUCER

The purpose of this checklist is to assist the applicant in obtaining all requirements to successfully submit a new resident producer license application. This document is a tool and has no merit if a dispute arises on whether the Kansas Department of Insurance ("Department") states a required item was not received. For additional information on licensing requirements or information, visit https://insurance.kansas.gov/producer-licensing/.

The applicant must be 18 years of age prior to applying for the resident producer license. Applications and fingerprints are valid for six months. As a result, the applicant must comply with all licensing requirements within six months of the date of the application.

While the documents below may be submitted at any time, obtaining the following items in the order they are listed will assist staff with processing the application as quickly as possible. Exams can be taken any time during the process. 1. Date: _____Tax Clearance Certificate. Apply for a tax clearance certificate from the Kansas Department of Revenue and ensure the tax clearance certificate was issued. For additional information on tax clearances, click here. Note: A tax clearance is valid for the period stated on the certificate of clearance and must be submitted to the Department, see step 5. Fingerprints & Submit to the Department: Obtain fingerprints and submit to a criminal history background check. Fingerprints are kept for six months and may be submitted prior to submitting the application. a. General Instructions for Fingerprinting and Requesting a Criminal Background Check b. Fingerprint FAQ (including information on digital fingerprinting). c. Request a digital fingerprint appointment at the Kansas Insurance Department (Topeka, KS) d. Digital fingerprinting will shorten the time the fingerprints are received and processed into the queue. Fingerprint cards must be mailed to the Department for processing. Once you have obtained the above items: 3. Date:____Submit an application: Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Individual Insurance Producer License online via the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). a. At the time you apply, you must pay an application fee of \$15 and a fingerprinting fee of \$60 by credit card or electronic check. Both fees are nonrefundable. Submit Tax Clearance: Electronically submit the tax clearance to the Kansas Insurance Department at: KDOI.licensing@ks.gov with "Tax Clearance" and your name or NPN in the Subject line of the email. You may also upload this document into the attachment warehouse through NIPR.com . Your application will not be processed until a tax clearance has been received by the Department. Waiver Form: Electronically submit a Waiver agreement and FBI Privacy Act Statement (Fingerprint Waiver Form) to the Department. Your fingerprints will not be processed until we have the application, waiver form, and tax clearance certificate. 6. Date: Exam: Pass the appropriate licensing examination. Exams are sent to SBS electronically. You may take and pass your exam prior to or after applying for your producer license. Exams are valid for 2 years after

Revised: April 3, 2024

the date of the examination.