
Third Party Administrators Licensing, Renewal and Annual Report Instructions 

Kansas Third Party Administrators are divided into three designations. The three designations 
are described below and include a listing of the required supplemental documents that are needed 
to complete a new application, as well as information relating to renewal and reporting 
requirements. Applications will not be approved until all supplemental items are provided.  

1. Kansas Non-Resident (Reciprocal) TPA - Application Information and Required 
Supplemental Attachments 

K.S.A 40-3813 provides for the issuance of a Non-Resident certificate of licensure for an 
administrator who has a Home State/Resident license in a state which Kansas recognizes has a 
“substantially similar” law as that of Kansas regarding the requirements of Home State licensure.  

States that Kansas considers “substantially similar” to the TPA laws of Kansas are as follows:  
Missouri, Florida, Indiana, Idaho, New Hampshire, Alaska, Delaware, and West Virginia.  

To apply – 

*Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Business Entity License online via the National 
Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) 

In addition to the application and $400 fee, which is submitted electronically through 
NIPR, supplemental items are required for a Non-Resident/Reciprocal TPA license in 
Kansas, and they are listed below: 

*Copy of “Declared Home State” TPA License. This must be a Resident/Home state TPA 
license from one of the eight reciprocal states listed above. 

*Certificate of Good Standing issued by the Secretary of State’s Office of the “Declared 
Home State” (defined in K.S.A. 40-3813). Please refer to reciprocal states listed above. 

*Please also include any separate, additional information needed to supplement the 
Background Information section of the application. 

Please provide all supplement material in a PDF file to the following email address:  
kdoi.tpa@ks.gov 

Renewals –  

Non-Resident licenses are renewed biennially by December 31st with the payment of a $200 
renewal fee (submitted electronically through NIPR) and completion of renewal application 
through NIPR.  National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR)  We also require the submission 
of an attestation statement, which is provided on our website.  Please upload the attestation 
form to the Attachments Warehouse for our review.    

Annual Reports –  

An Annual Report is required and is due every year by July 1st. (See Annual Report Section) 
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2. Kansas Resident State/Kansas No Home State TPA Application Information and 
Required Supplemental Attachments 

K.S.A 40-3812 provides for the issuance of a Kansas Resident State certificate of licensure for an 
administrator domiciled in the state of Kansas or an entity not domiciled in Kansas (Kansas No 
Home State) but chooses to apply for a home state license for the purpose of obtaining a certificate 
of licensure. Kansas Resident State applications require organizational and financial documents, 
business plan, a $400 license application fee, and occasionally a bond is required.  

License renewal is not necessary; however, an Annual Report is due every year by July 1st. (See 
Annual Report Section) 

To Apply –  

*Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Business Entity License online via the National 
Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) 

Supplement/checklist items required for a Kansas Resident State TPA license application in 
Kansas include the following:  Please refer to K.S.A. 40-3812 for specific details. 

The below section of supplemental documents may be uploaded to the attachments warehouse. - 
Attachments warehouse  
 
*All basic organizational documents - 

- Certified Articles of Incorporation  
- Certified Bylaws, Rules, Regulations  
- Entity(s) Organizational Chart  
- Articles of Association  
- Partnership Agreement  
- Trade Name Certificate  
- Trust Agreement  
- Shareholder Agreement  
 
Articles of Incorporation must be accompanied by original certification by the proper supervisory 
official of the Company’s state of incorporation.  
 
Amended Bylaws are required to have an original certification by the corporate secretary with the 
company’s seal or notarized.  
 
*List of Officers  
- Officers Organizational Chart  
- NAIC Biographical Affidavits (may be emailed to kdoi.tpa@ks.gov) 
 
*Original Letter of Certification or Certificate of Good Standing 

Must be issued by the Secretary of State or Department of Insurance where the company is 
incorporated.  
 
*Certificate of Good Standing issued by the Kansas Secretary of State  

 

http://www.nipr.com/
https://nipr.com/licensing-center/attachments
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*Detailed Business Plan in the State of Kansas 

K.S.A. 40-3812(b)(6): “A statement describing the business plan, including information on staffing 
levels and activities, proposed in this state and nationwide. The plan shall provide details setting forth 
the applicant’s capability for providing a sufficient number of experienced and qualified personnel in 
the areas of claims processing, record keeping and underwriting.”  
 
*List of Insurers (name of insurer, FEIN, NAIC#, Address) 

*Surety Bond (if required) K.S.A. 40-3812(h) (Government or Church Self-Funded Plans) 
h) An administrator licensed or applying for a home state license that administers or will administer 

governmental or church self-insured plans in this state or any other state shall maintain a surety bond 
for the use and benefit of the commissioner to be held in trust for the benefit and protection of covered 
persons and any payor or self-funded plan against loss by reason of acts of fraud or dishonesty. The 
bond shall be in the greater of the following amounts: 

(1) $100,000; or 
(2) an amount equal to 10% of the aggregate total amount of self-funded coverage under church 

plans or governmental plans handled in this state and all additional states in which the administrator is 
authorized to do business. 
 
Please provide the following supporting documents in a PDF file to the following email address:  
kdoi.tpa@ks.gov 
 
*Two (2) most recent fiscal years’ Audited Financial Statements 

K.S.A. 40-3812(b)(4): “Audited financial statements or reports for the two most recent fiscal years 
that demonstrate that the applicant has a positive net worth. If the applicant has been in existence for 
less than two fiscal years, the uniform application shall include financial statements or reports, 
certified by at least two officers, owners or directors of the applicant, and prepared in accordance 
with GAAP, for any completed fiscal years and for any month during the current fiscal year for 
which such financial statements or reports have been completed. An audited annual financial report 
prepared on a consolidated basis shall include a columnar consolidating or combining worksheet that 
shall be filed with the report…”  
 
*Third Party Administrator Hardship Exemption Request K.S.A. 3812(b)(5) (If needed) 
(Surety Bond Required) 

(5) in lieu of submitting audited financial statements, and upon written application by an applicant 
and good cause shown, the commissioner may grant a hardship exemption from filing audited financial 
statements and allow the submission of unaudited financial statements. Acceptable formats for 
unaudited financial statements, that shall include notes, are: 

(A) Reports compiled or reviewed by a certified public accountant; or 
(B) internal financial reports prepared in accordance with GAAP, certified by at least two officers, 

owners or directors of the administrator. 
If unaudited financial statements are submitted, the applicant must also secure and maintain a 

surety bond in a form prescribed by the commissioner for the use and benefit of the commissioner to 
be held in trust for the benefit and protection of covered persons and any payor or self-funded plan 
against loss by reason of acts of fraud or dishonesty, for the greater of 10% of funds handled for the 
benefit of Kansas residents or $20,000.  
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*Letter of good standing from Financial Institutioni 

Letter should be addressed to the Kansas Department of Insurance and includes the accounts the 
company has with the bank, the purpose of the accounts, and that the accounts are in good standing.

3. Kansas Self-Funded TPA Application Information

KSA 40-3810 provides for the issuance of a certificate of registration to an administrator that is 
performing the duties of an administrator in conjunction with life, annuity, or health coverage for 
residents of Kansas provided by a self-funded plan other than a governmental or church plan. 
There are no fees associated with the registration or renewal of this type of registration (except 
NIPR filing fees.) 

To Apply –  

Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Business Entity License online via the National 
Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) 

Provide a list of all entities for which your firm provides administrative services in the 
State of Kansas.  Please include the full name and address of each entity and the date your 
firm initiated administrative services.  Please provide this supplement material in a PDF 
file to the following email address:  kdoi.tpa@ks.gov 

To Renew – 

The certificate of registration expires annually on December 31st and a renewal application 
must be submitted through NIPR to continue the registration for another year. National 
Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) 

Provide a list of all entities for which your firm provides administrative services in the 
State of Kansas.  Please include the full name and address of each entity and the date your 
firm initiated administrative services.  Please download this information to the Documents 
Warehouse for our review or email to kdoi.tpa@ks.gov. 

Annual Reports 

K.S.A. 40-3814 

Annually, by July 1st, all Kansas Resident State/Kansas No Home State and Non-Resident TPA’s 
are required to electronically submit an Annual Report for review. This Report is not to be 
confused with a renewal and is separate from the biennial renewal of the Non-Resident TPA’s.  

IMPORTANT - Beginning in 2024, the Annual Report form, $100 fee and attachments are to be 
sent through the SBS for Organizations site.  The Annual Report form can be found on the 
Kansas Department of Insurance website or by following the below link –  

https://insurance.ks.gov/company/ah-life/TPA-Annual-Report.pdf 

This Annual Report form should be completed, printed and included with the supplemental 
documents listed below and uploaded through the SBS for Organizations program in one report 

http://www.nipr.com/
mailto:kdoi.tpa@ks.gov
http://www.nipr.com/
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submission.  It’s important to include all required documents in one transaction since there are 
additional fees for items submitted after the initial submission. 

Items required for the Annual Report (in addition to the Report form) include the following – 

-$100 Annual Report Fee – submitted electronically through SBS for Organizations.   

-List of Insurers/Self-Funded Plans, including number of Kansas residents covered by each plan.

-Audited Financial Statement for prior year. If an audited “consolidated” financial statement is
provided, it must include an audited itemized breakdown supplement for the specific TPA entity,
per K.S.A. 40-3814(1). If negative equity is reported in the audited financial statement,
additional explanatory reporting and/or financial information is required to be included in the
Report which explains the deficit and supports financial soundness.

K.S.A. 40-3814(2) permits the Commissioner to grant a hardship exemption from filing the 
required audited financial statements and allow the submission of unaudited financial statements.  
Please reference the “Third Party Administrator Hardship Exemption” information on our 
website for hardship application procedures as well as information that would be required if an 
exemption was approved, including securing and maintaining a surety bond for the greater of 
10% of funds handled for the benefit of Kansas residents or $20,000.00. 

-Any other “Background Information” attachments that apply.

Contact Information –  

Kansas Department of Insurance 

Email – kdoi.tpa@ks.gov 

Phone – 785-296-7857 – Cathy Abbott 

mailto:kdoi.tpa@ks.gov

