Kansas Insurance Department Retaliatory Statement

Financial Minimum Requirements:

	<u>Capital</u>	<u>Surplus</u>	Deposit*
Stock Life	\$ 600,000	\$ 600,000	\$ 400,000
Stock Fire	\$ 450,000	\$ 300,000	\$ 450,000
Stock Casualty	\$ 450,000	\$ 300,000	\$ 450,000
Stock Fire & Casualty	\$ 900,000	\$ 600,000	\$ 900,000
Stock Mortgage Guaranty	\$1,000,000	\$1,000,000	\$1,000,000
Mutual Life	N/A	\$1,200,000	\$ 400,000
Mutual Fire	N/A	\$ 750,000	\$ 450,000
Mutual Casualty	N/A	\$ 750,000	\$ 450,000
Mutual Fire & Casualty	N/A	\$1,500,000	\$ 900,000
Mutual Mortgage Guaranty	N/A	\$2,000,000	\$1,000,000
Title	\$ 450,000	\$ 300,000	\$ 450,000

^{*}Market value of securities that must be held for the protection of all the company's policyholder and creditors

Retaliatory Provisions

Kansas is a retaliatory state. Premium taxes, admission fees, deposits and other charges will be charged at the greater of the rate in Kansas or the rate charged by the domiciliary state (K.S.A. 40-253).

Admission Fees

Examination of Charter and Other Documents \$500* Filing Annual Statement \$100** Certificate of Authority \$10**

Annual Renewal Fees

Filing Annual Statement \$100 Certificate of Authority \$10

Premium Tax

Every company shall pay a tax annually upon all premiums received at a rate of 2 percent per annum. In the computation of the gross premiums all such companies shall be entitled to deduct any premiums returned on account of cancellations, all premiums received for reinsurance from any other company authorized to do business in this state, and dividends returned to policyholders. A host of credits are available to companies that write premiums in Kansas. This significantly lowers the effective tax rate.

Other Potential Taxes and Assessments

The Insurance Commissioner shall assess groups of affiliated insurers based on the company assets from the previous calendar year. The minimum group assessment is \$500. The maximum amount that can be assessed is .00015 percent of the total assets, up to \$25,000. If applied, this assessment is billed in late September and due by November 1.

Every such company or association organized under the laws of any state other than Kansas shall pay a fee of \$5 for each agent certified by the company.

A fire marshal tax is applied at a rate of 1.25 percent of the total amount of premiums received for certain fire and lightning insurance that covers risks located within Kansas during the preceding calendar year.

A firefighters' relief tax is applied at the rate of 2 percent of the above-mentioned fire and lightning premiums received.

^{*}This fee is non-refundable and must be submitted with each company's initial application, pursuant to K.S.A. 40-252H

^{**}These fees are collected only upon issuance of a Kansas Certificate of Authority

A workers' compensation assessment may be made each year, to be paid by those companies that write worker's compensation insurance. A determined rate is multiplied by a company's paid-loss total in the preceding calendar year to arrive at the assessment amount owed.

Bond

For interinsurance exchanges, a bond would be required of a like foreign company in an amount fixed and to be approved by the advisory committee or other governing body of such exchange, for the purpose of guaranteeing faithful accounting and disbursement of all money coming into to the hands of the attorney- in-fact in accordance with K.S.A. 40-1608.