FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 15, 2025

Contact: Kyle Strathman Kyle.Strathman@ks.gov

Kansas Insurance Commissioner Vicki Schmidt to reduce fees by millions

Topeka, Kan. – Kansas Insurance Commissioner Vicki Schmidt, today, announced that several bills introduced by the Kansas Department of Insurance have been signed into law. House Bill 2050 and Houses Bill 2334 contain provisions that will continue the Commissioner's commitment to reducing the cost of doing business in Kansas.

"When compliance costs are out-of-line, consumers are forced to foot the bill," said Schmidt. "I have made it my mission to right-size government and these new laws keep that commitment."

HB 2050 eliminates the producer appointment renewal fees, which will reduce revenues to the Department by an estimated \$5.9 million. Further, the new law gives the Commissioner the authority to lower over 100 statutory fees, which will be published in the Kansas Register each year by December 1.

HB 2334 reduces the state premium tax levied on insurance carriers to 1.98% of the total premium written. This tax cut eliminates the portion of the premium tax retained by the Department by an estimated \$1.8 million.

Under Commissioner Schmidt's leadership, the Department has consistently lowered fees and reduced the cost of doing business by more than \$76 million.

Both laws will take effect on July 1, 2025. The enrolled bills can be found at: www.kslegislature.gov/li/b2025_26/measures/bills.

###

The Kansas Department of Insurance was established in 1871, currently led by Commissioner Vicki Schmidt. The mission of the Department is to **regulate** companies that sell policies in Kansas to ensure solvency and compliance with state law, **educate** consumers about all things insurance and securities, and **advocate** for a strong and competitive market to give Kansans choices when shopping for products that meet their needs.