

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 19, 2023

Contact: Kyle Strathman Kyle.Strathman@ks.gov

Commissioner Schmidt reduces producer licensing fees by \$1.2 million

Topeka, Kan. – Kansas Insurance Commissioner Vicki Schmidt, today, announced that insurance licensing fees will be reduced by \$1.2 million beginning in January 2024.

"This reduction in fees is yet another example of the Department's commitment to lowering the cost of doing business in Kansas," Schmidt said. "I will continue looking for ways to right-size operations here at the Department while cutting costs and saving Kansans money."

Resident producer application fees will be reduced from \$30 to \$15, and non-resident producer fees will be reduced from \$80 to \$50. The new rates will take effect January 1, 2024, and will be posted on the Department's website and the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) application.

This year, Commissioner Schmidt introduced and the Legislature passed HB 2090, which gave the Department the authority to lower licensing fees below what is set in statute. The Department received over 43,000 new resident and non-resident applications last fiscal year.

For more information about producer licensing, visit <u>insurance.kansas.gov/producer-licensing</u>.

###

The Kansas Legislature established the Kansas Insurance Department in 1871, currently led by Commissioner Vicki Schmidt. The mission of the Department is to **regulate** companies that sell policies in Kansas to ensure solvency and compliance with state law, **educate** consumers about all things insurance and securities, and **advocate** for a strong and competitive market to give Kansans choices when shopping for products that meet their needs.