
 

K.A.R. 40-7-13. Agents; scope, subclassification; type and conduct of examinations; 

reexamination. (a) The licensing examination for each agent shall test the applicant's knowledge 

in the following areas:  

(1) The laws of Kansas, including:  

(A) pertinent provisions of the statutes of Kansas; and  

(B) rules and regulations of the insurance department of insurance;  

(2) general insurance, including:  

(A) duties and responsibilities of a licensed agent; and  

(B) basic insurance knowledge; and  

(3) the specific classes or subclasses of insurance for which application is made.  

(b) For examination purposes, the classifications and subclassifications of insurance shall 

be as follows:  

Class       Subclass  

(1) Life insurance;  

(2) accident and health insurance; 

(3) casualty insurance and allied lines  title insurance and bail bonds;  

(4) property insurance and allied lines crop insurance  



 

(c) Each applicant shall take the required examination through the vendor(s) designated 

by the commissioner.  The vendor(s) designated by the commissioner may also provide each 

applicant study materials, prepare examinations covering the required topics, and conduct the 

required examinations. 

(d) Persons failing to score at least 70 percent on any examination shall have failed that 

examination and shall not be qualified for a license for that class or subclass. Each applicant 

failing to satisfactorily complete any examination, may in accordance with the provisions of 

K.S.A. 40-241, and amendments thereto, retake the examination following a waiting period of 

not less than seven (7) days from the date of the most recent attempt. Notification of the result of 

each examination shall be provided to the applicant only.  

(e) Each applicant’s passing examination score shall be valid for two years from the date 

of the examination. 

(d)(f) Examinations shall be conducted as follows.: 

(1) Each applicant shall be advised of eligibility for examination by the commissioner or 

the commissioner's designee.  

(2) The Each applicant's licensing application shall remain effective for a period of one 

year from the date received.  

(3)On and after May 1, 1989, An examination registration shall be effective for a period 

of 90 days from the date the registration is validated. (Authorized by K.S.A. 40-103, K.S.A. 

19912024 Supp. 40-241; implementing K.S.A. 19912024 Supp. 40-241; effective Jan. 1, 1966; 



 

amended Jan. 1, 1968; amended Jan. 1, 1969; amended Jan. 1, 1970; amended, E-70-28, July 1, 

1970; amended Jan. 1, 1971; amended, E-71-24, July 1, 1971; amended Jan. 1, 1972; amended 

Jan. 1, 1973; amended Jan. 1, 1974; amended, E-78- 24, Sept. 7, 1977; amended May 1, 1978; 

amended May 1, 1979; amended May 1, 1981; amended May 1, 1982; amended May 1, 1985; 

amended May 1, 1986; amended May 1, 1987; amended December 26, 1988; amended May 15, 

1989; amended Feb. 8, 1993; amended P-_________________.) 


