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WHY DO I NEED AUTO INSURANCE?
Kansas law mandates that anyone who operates an automobile in Kansas has auto insurance. Proof of this 
insurance is required when registering a vehicle, renewing a registration, requested by a law enforcement 
officer, or in a motor vehicle accident.

When you purchase auto insurance, your policy combines multiple individual coverages that protect you 
against a specific type of loss. The following briefly describes each form of basic coverage in a personal 
automobile policy contract:

* Denotes minimum requirements in Kansas

COVERAGE PROTECTS AGAINST EXAMPLE

Bodily Injury Liability* Injury you cause with your car You rear-end another driver and the 
impact gives them whiplash

Property Damage Liability* Property damage you cause  
with your car

You run a stoplight and cause an 
accident with another car, smashing 
their passenger-side door

Personal Injury Protection*
Medical expenses and lost wages  
for you and your passengers after  
an accident

You are in an accident regardless of 
who is at fault

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist*

Provides coverage for expenses 
associated with bodily injury caused 
by an uninsured or under-insured 
motorist

You are t-boned by an uninsured driver 
and your injuries require treatment

BEYOND THE BASICS

Comprehensive Damage not caused by a collision Tree branch falls onto your car’s roof 
and causes damage

Collision Damage caused by a collision, no 
matter who was at fault

You backed into a telephone pole and 
cracked your rear bumper
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KANSAS MINIMUM MANDATORY  
COVERAGES AND LIMITS

Kansas law requires that every personal automobile insurance policy sold in the state have these 
minimum coverages:

COVERAGE

Liability Coverage

$25,000 per person – bodily injury

$50,000 per accident – bodily injury

$25,000 per accident – property damage

Personal Injury Protection

$4,500 per person – medical expenses

$900 per month for one year – disability/loss of income

$25 per day – substitution benefits

$2,000 – funeral, burial or cremation expenses

$4,500 – rehabilitation expenses to train for re-employment

$900 per month for one year – disability/loss-of-income survivor benefits 

$25 per day for up to one year – substitution benefits

Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury
$25,000 per person – bodily injury

$50,000 per accident – bodily injury

You may buy a policy that exceeds these minimum amounts. The Kansas Department of Insurance 
recommends you purchase coverage that meets your needs. Talk with your agent about your  
personal needs.
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COVERAGE OPTIONS
Additional optional coverage – sometimes called riders – are available to you. Consult with your 
insurance company or agent about what coverages you may need, as some of these benefits may 
already be covered in your base policy.

Rental Reimbursement
Provides for a limited daily amount for rental car charges while your motor 
vehicle is repaired for covered damages. Policies generally limit the maximum 
dollar amount and the number of days the coverage is in force per occurrence.

Auto Glass Coverage Provides for partial or full coverage of a damaged or broken windshield

Excess Medical Payments Coverage Provides for necessary excess medical amounts over and above those paid 
under PIP/Kansas no-fault benefits.

Umbrella Liability Policy
Provides an additional $1 million to $5 million limit of liability coverage beyond 
the limits of your primary personal automobile liability coverage. Pays only after 
you exhaust the limits of the primary policy. 



Auto Insurance Shopper’s Guide page 4

TIPS FOR LOWERING YOUR PREMIUMS
•	 Review your personal automobile insurance coverage periodically with your agent or insurance 

company, and update if necessary.

•	 Compare premium rates for identical coverages and terms.

•	 Maintain a good driving record that does not have moving traffic violations and/or chargeable accidents.

•	 Maintain a good credit score. Plan eligibility may be affected by your score.

•	 You may qualify for a discount if two or more vehicles are insured with the same company or your 
vehicles have airbags, anti-lock brakes and/or other safety equipment.

•	 If you have other insurance policies, such as homeowners, renters, life or health, with the same 
insurance company, you may qualify for a discount. This is known as bundling. 

•	 Before purchasing a car, determine the cost of automobile insurance. Repairs to some vehicles cost 
more than others and can increase your premium rates.

•	 Consider having liability-only coverage – as opposed to full coverage (comprehensive and collision)  
– on motor vehicles valued less than $3,000. Your savings on premiums can be significant.

•	 Consider raising your deductible on comprehensive and collision coverage.

•	 Participate in a course on driver safety and motor vehicle avoidance. Talk to your agent about these 
courses – they can yield varying levels of premium discounts.

TIPS FOR PARENTS OF TEENAGE DRIVERS
•	 If your teenager does not own a car – meaning the title is not in his or her name – and has had no 

moving traffic violations and/or chargeable accidents, ask to have your teen rated on your family’s 
personal auto insurance policy as an occasional operator.

•	 Check for discounts available through your insurance company. You may be able to get a discount for 
having multiple vehicles insured by one company. Some of these may be related to a student’s academic 
excellence, or if a student is attending a postsecondary institution far from home.

•	 Sometimes teenage drivers are assigned to the most expensive car in the household. You can save 
money by making sure your teen’s name is assigned to the right car.
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SHOPPING CHECKLIST
There are some common questions you will need to answer when shopping for auto insurance. Remember, 
the least expensive deal is not always the best deal. Good insurance value means finding the right price, 
best coverage and quality service. Ask what discounts will save you money. Make sure the premium quotes 
you get are for the same term and coverage. For example, not all companies will offer the same  
deductible options. 

Motor Vehicle Information
Year ___________ Make/Model _____________________ Motor Vehicle ID No. (VIN)________________

Motor vehicle location (city, county, state and ZIP code) __________________________________________

Vehicle primarily used to travel:

______ To and from work			   ______ To and from school			   ______ For pleasure	  

______ For business				    ______ For farming				    ______ Other

Number of miles driven each year _________________________

Number of miles to/from work or school ____________________

Owner of Motor Vehicle
Name ___________________________________ Relation to insurance applicant ____________________

Age ______	 Sex ______	 Marital status _______ Occupation __________________________________

Drivers to be Insured on the Policy
Name __________________________________ Driver’s license number ____________________________

Age ______	 Sex ______	 Marital status _______ 

Accidents/Moving Traffic Violations
Number of convictions for moving traffic violations in past three years ______

Number of accidents in the past three years ______

Ask About Discounts for:
______ Being a good driver

______ Being a good student

______ Having low annual mileage

______ Being a mature driver

______ Carpooling

______ Having multiple vehicles insured by one company

______ Having auto and home or renters policies with one company

______ Taking a driver education/accident prevention course

______ Having a car equipped with safety devices

______ Having a car equipped with anti-theft devices
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HOW ARE MY PREMIUMS DETERMINED?
Companies can consider chargeable accidents for rating purposes for 3 - 5 years per accident.  
A chargeable accident is anything your company writes a check for. The percentage and amount of a 
surcharge may vary between companies.

Underwriting
Just because you apply with a particular insurance company does not mean the company has to provide 
insurance coverage to you. Underwriting is a process in which an insurance company determines if the risk 
you present to the company meets the standards or guidelines it has established for you to obtain or retain 
insurance coverage with the company. Underwriting takes into account factors about you, factors about 
other insureds in the household and your driving habits, as well as a handful of other factors. 

Eligibility into a Personal Auto Insurance Rating Plan 
If you are approved for coverage from an insurance company, some of the rating factors that will influence 
your premium rate are the driving record of individuals in the household where you reside; how you use 
your vehicle (for pleasure or traveling to work); make and model of motor vehicles to be insured; where 
you and other applicants/insureds drive and reside; your gender; your age and most recent prior insurance 
coverage (whether your coverage was canceled or not renewed). An insurance company may offer you a 
policy in one of three rating categories:

Preferred Standard Nonstandard

This category is intended for drivers 
who are considered by insurance 
companies to be the best insureds 
because they usually are the safest 
drivers, present the lowest risk factors 
and are least likely to file a claim. 

These types of drivers usually have 
had no moving traffic violations and/
or chargeable accidents during the 
past three to five years. The premium 
charge for these types of drivers will 
be the lowest.

This category is for moderate-risk 
drivers. These drivers are usually 
driving family-type motor vehicles and 
have a reasonably clean driving record 
with no more than one moving traffic 
violation and no chargeable accidents 
during the past three to five years. 

The premium charge for this category 
of personal automobile insurance 
will be higher than for the preferred 
program.

This category is for drivers who 
insurance companies consider to be 
high risk. 

These types of drivers may be younger 
than 25; have less driving experience; 
have had moving traffic violations 
and/or chargeable accidents during 
the past three to five years; have poor 
payment history; have had convictions 
for driving under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs and/or license 
suspensions. 

The Kansas Department of Insurance and Premiums
The Department ensures that insurance policies are in compliance with Kansas law. The Department 
does not set or change premiums for policyholders. Rather, insurance companies submit the necessary 
filings to change premiums, and the Department either files or disapproves the requested rate change. 
These changes must be justified actuarially and must not violate any provision of Kansas law. For more 
information, please contact the Department at 785-296-3071.
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TERMINATION OF YOUR PERSONAL AUTO POLICY
An insurance company may terminate your coverage under certain circumstances. Coverage may be 
canceled or nonrenewed. Cancellation means the company terminates your policy before it expires. 
Nonrenewal means the company chooses not to renew your policy when it expires. 

Cancellation
During the first 60 days of coverage under a new policy, the insurance company can cancel your policy for 
any lawful reason. After 60 days your policy cannot be canceled unless:

•	 nonpayment of a premium and/or any installment when it is due. There is no grace period.

•	 A policy is obtained through fraudulent misrepresentation.

•	 Violation of the terms and conditions of the policy.

•	 The insured, a family member or a person customarily operating the insured’s motor vehicle with 
permission has: 

	à Had his or her driver’s license suspended or revoked during a policy period. 

	à Is subject to epilepsy or heart attacks and cannot produce a physician certificate indicating the insured’s 
ability to operate a vehicle. 

	à Been convicted during the 36 months immediately preceding the effective date of the policy or during 
the policy period for any of the following: any felony, vehicular homicide, operated a vehicle while 
intoxicated or under the influence of drugs, left the scene of an accident without reporting the accident, 
theft of a motor vehicle, made false statements on a driver’s license application, or committed three 
moving violations within an 18-month period. 

The company must give at least a minimum of 30 days written notice of the cancellation, except in the case 
of nonpayment of premium. Any premium refund due at cancellation must accompany the notice or be 
mailed within 10 days of notice.

Nonrenewal
An insurance company must offer renewal of your personal automobile liability insurance coverages unless 
one of the following applies:

•	 The commissioner of insurance requires the company to reduce its number of policies in order to 
preserve its financial integrity.

•	 The company no longer does business in Kansas.

•	 The company shows competent medical evidence that the insured has a physical or mental disability 
that impairs driving in a safe and reasonable manner.

•	 The company determines that a substantial change in risk has occurred that was not known at the time 
the policy was issued or last renewed.
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•	 The policy has been continuously in effect for a period of five years after the first anniversary date.

•	 Any of the reasons that allow for cancellation.

The company must give at least a minimum of 30 days written notice of non-renewal.

Diminished Value Claims
Diminished value claims are made to address the lowered resale value of a vehicle after having been 
involved in an accident and repaired. 

In most cases, this type of claim is excluded under first-party coverage by policy language, meaning you 
cannot make this claim against your own policy.  

If another party is liable for your damages, you could present a claim under that party’s policy. There is no 
statutory requirement in Kansas for the payment of a diminished value claim, and there is no set formula 
for determining the amount on a diminished value claim. If you are making this type of claim you will need 
to be able to support and document the amount you are claiming. Evaluations of the lowered value can  
vary greatly.

OTHER COVERAGE OPTIONS
There may be some Kansans who are unable to acquire auto coverage in certain instances. Two statutorily-
created organizations exist to assist those individuals with coverage options.

Kansas Automobile Insurance Plan (KAIP)
KAIP is a Kansas program with the purpose of providing automobile insurance to applicants who are 
otherwise unable to find coverage in good faith. If as least three companies have rejected you for personal 
auto insurance, you can purchase coverage through KAIP, which provides basic liability coverage required 
by law along with optional physical damage coverages such as comprehensive and collision.
Contact:
(888) 706-6100
ksaip@aipso.com
www.aipso.com/Plan-Sites/Kansas

Kansas Automobile Assigned Claims Plan (KAACP)
Kansas residents who do not own a car or motorcycle can still access personal injury protection (PIP) 
coverage through the KAACP. This plan provides statutory PIP benefits to any person who suffers injury in 
Kansas provided other PIP benefits are not available to the injured person.
Contact:
(888) 706-6100
KSAssignedClaims@aipso.com 
www.aipso.com/Plan-Sites/Kansas-Automobile-Assigned-Claims-Plan

Effective January 1, 2024, KAIP and KAACP have permanently closed their Topeka, Kansas office. Additionally, management of the 
plans has been transferred to AIPSO, a national, not-for-profit corporation formed by the insurance industry to provide services to 
automobile insurance residual markets throughout the country. Mailing Address: P.O. Box 6530, Providence, RI 02940
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HOW DO CLAIMS WORK?
After an accident, file a claim by notifying your agent or company as soon as possible and follow up online 
or in writing if you report by telephone. Always cooperate with the insurance company and respond timely 
to their requests. If you feel the other party is responsible for damages, contact their insurance company or 
agent to file a claim. 

If you suffer injuries and are a titled owner of an insured motor vehicle, notify your insurance company. 
PIP/Kansas no-fault benefits will be the first to cover medical expenses.

COMPANY HAS 30 DAYS FROM NOTIFICATION TO 
COMPLETE LIABILITY INVESTIGATION.

AFTER INVESTIGATION, IF CLAIM IS NOT DENIED, 
ONE OF TWO OUTCOMES IS COMMON FOR  

VEHICLE SETTLEMENT.

VEHICLE WILL BE REPAIRED
•	 Company does not have to settle claim based on 

highest estimate of repair. If company believes 
the estimates are too high, it has the right to 
check with other repair facilities. 

•	 Company’s offer needs to cover the actual repair 
costs to restore vehicle to pre-loss condition. 

•	 Company can repair with after-market 
parts. May also repair with used or 
salvage parts provided parts are of 
like kind and quality.

VEHICLE IS REPAIRED
•	 Claim settlement check is issued in your name. 

•	 A check issued to the repair shop only if you provide 
authorization for shop’s name to also appear on check. 

A.

1.

B.

2.

VEHICLE IS DECLARED TOTALED
•	 Car is 7 years old or newer AND damage 

meets or exceeds 75% retail value - must 
be declared total loss. 

•	 Older than 7 years varies by company. 

•	 When determining retail value or actual 
cash value, company may reference 
online valuations.

•	 “Total Loss” varies depending on your 
policy. Review your policy to fully 
understand what is covered. 



Auto Insurance Shopper’s Guide page 10

FILING A CONSUMER COMPLAINT WITH THE 
KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

The Kansas Department of Insurance has several consumer assistance representatives to assist 
policyholders with questions and concerns about their policies. If you are confused by your policy or need 
assistance with filing an insurance claim, please contact the Department.

There may be an instance where you have tried unsuccessfully to resolve an insurance claim dispute with 
your insurance company or agent. If this is the case, filing a consumer complaint with the Department is an 
option you may explore. The complaints process is as follows:

Contact the Kansas Department of Insurance. A consumer assistance representative will evaluate the issue 
at hand. You will be asked to submit a complaint online. Alternatively you can complete the complaint form 
digitally at insurance.kansas.gov/complaint.

The Department will conduct a review of your complaint and will contact the appropriate parties. You will 
receive an acknowledgment from the Department.

After review, if a Kansas insurance law has been violated, the Department will request corrective action. 
Your insurer may be asked to complete a more thorough investigation. If no violation of Kansas insurance 
law is found, the Department will explain why and the investigation will be closed.

insurance.kansas.gov/auto-insurance
FOR MORE INFO, VISIT
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