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Contact us:

Online:
insurance.kansas.gov

By email:
KID.commissioner@ks.gov

Consumer Assistance Hotline:
800-432-2484
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785-296-3071
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1300 SW Arrowhead Rd., Topeka, 

KS 66604

By fax:
785-296-5806

Hours:
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays

(except state holidays)

How to utilize the tax credits:

Complete Form K-57. You will need to 
complete the Department of Revenue 
Schedule K-57 form to utilize the tax 
credit.

For information 
regarding how this tax 
credit might apply to 

your business, contact 
your tax adviser. The 

Kansas Insurance 
Department cannot 
provide tax advice.
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Tax credits can 
make it more 
affordable for 
businesses to 
contribute to 
health 
insurance 
premiums or 
health savings 
accounts for 
their 
employees.

Tax credits
Eligible employers will receive a tax credit for 
contributions they make to health savings 
accounts or insurance plans for their 
employees. In the first year, the tax credit will 
equal $70 per eligible employee per month.

This program is designed to help employers 
and employees, but not make them dependent 
on the government. Therefore, the tax credit 
gradually declines over a three-year period.

How does it work?
According to 2012 Senate Sub. for HB 2117: 
“For tax years 2013 and all tax years thereaf-
ter, the income tax credit...shall only be avail-
able to taxpayers subject to the income tax 
on corporations imposed pursuant to subsec-
tion (c) of K.S.A. 79-32,110, and amendments 
thereto, and shall be applied only against such 
taxpayer’s corporate income tax liability.”

Businesses that meet that criteria that have 
been in existence for less than two years and 
have not provided any health insurance or 
made health savings account contributions 
for employees may also take advantage of the 
program. Self-insured plans are not eligible for 
the tax credit.

For more information about the 
tax credits, refer to the following 
statutes:

• K.S.A. 40-2239
• K.S.A. 40-2240
• K.S.A. 40-2241
• K.S.A. 40-2242
• K.S.A. 40-2246

Amount of the credit
Year 1: $70 per month per eligible 
covered employee.

Year 2: Reduces to $50 per month per 
eligible covered employee.

Year 3: Reduces to $35 per month per 
eligible covered employee.

Year 4 and later: The tax credit is no 
longer available.

For more information, contact Craig Van Aalst 
at the Kansas Insurance Department at 
1-800-432-2484 or 785-296-7850.




