OFFICE OF THE
KANSAS SECURITIES COMMISSIONER (KSC)

The INVEST KANSAS EXEMPTION - “1KE”

The Invest Kansas Exemption is provided by K.A.R. 81-5-21 in order to remove some of the
regulatory hurdles for small businesses based in Kansas. The exemption is unique and
innovative in comparison with other exemptions under the Kansas Uniform Securities Act and
similar laws in other states.

The most significant provisions of the exemption are as follows:

The issuer of securities must be a business entity or organization that is organized in
Kansas by registration with the Kansas Secretary of State, and must be located in Kansas
with at least 80% of its assets and operations within Kansas.

All investors in securities of the issuer must be Kansas residents and all offers and sales
transactions must occur within Kansas, and any resales during the offering and for a
period of 9 months after the offering is completed must be limited to Kansas residents.

Note: The first two conditions above are required for compliance with Rule 147 under the
federal Securities Act of 1933 for intrastate offerings in order to be exempt from
registration with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). There are other
important requirements under Rule 147 that should be reviewed carefully and thoroughly.

A copy of Rule 147 is attached for further review. The rule may also be reviewed on the

website of the SEC at http://www.sec.gov/divisions/corpfin/forms/smallbus.shtml .

Up to $1,000,000 of new capital can be raised, less the total amount from securities sold
within the previous 12 months in order to claim the exemption for the current offering.
Larger offerings would need to be registered or comply with some other exemption. Sales
to controlling persons are not counted for the $1 million limit.

The investment for each Kansas resident is limited to $5,000 in equity or debt securities
unless they qualify as an Accredited Investor as defined by Rule 501 of federal Regulation
D [an individual with net worth of at least $1,000,000 or annual income of $200,000
($300,000 if joint income with spouse) and any officer, director, general partner or
managing member of the issuer].

All funds from Kansas investors must be deposited in a bank or depository institution
authorized to do business in Kansas, and all funds must be used for the purposes
disclosed to investors in offering documents.

Form IKE must be filed with the KSC office in Topeka before any advertising or general
solicitation of investors occurs. The Form IKE is a simple one-page form which requires
information about the business and persons involved in the offering. No fee is required
with the filing.

The offering document must disclose that the securities have not been registered and the
fact that investors would need to comply with an exemption for resales.

Issuers without a specific plan of business or involving persons with criminal or disciplinary
history specified in regulations are disqualified from using this exemption.
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