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YOU MUST FILE THIS FORM WITH THE 
KANSAS ATTORNEY GENERAL’S 

OFFICE 
 

AFFIDAVIT OF WORKERS COMPENSATION EXEMPTION 
UNDER THE KANSAS ROOFING REGISTRATION ACT 

 
 
 
STATE OF KANSAS   ) 
      ) ss: 
COUNTY OF ________________________) 
 
 
 1. My name is ______________________________. I am of legal age and sound 
mind, capable of making this Affidavit, and personally acquainted with the facts contained within 
this affidavit. I understand that by submitting this Affidavit to the Office of the Attorney General 
for registration pursuant to the Kansas roofing registration act, I am stating that my business is 
exempt from carrying workers compensation coverage. 
 
 2. I am the sole proprietor, owner, or partner of ______________________________, 
         Business Name 
a business that is engaged as a “roofing contractor,” as defined by K.S.A. 50-6,122(a)(1) of the 
Kansas roofing registration act, and the business is not required to purchase workers compensation 
insurance coverage for the following reason: 
 

[  ] I am a sole proprietor and have no “employee(s),” as defined under K.S.A. 
44-508(b);  

 
[  ] I am a partner in a partnership with no “employee(s),” as defined under 

K.S.A. 44-508(b); 
 
[  ] My total gross annual payroll for the preceding calendar year was not more 

than $20,000 for all employees, excluding family members of the employer, 
and I reasonably estimate that I will not have a total gross annual payroll for 
the current calendar year of more than $20,000 for all employees, excluding 
family members of the employer; or  

 
[  ] I have not had a payroll for the preceding calendar year, and I reasonably 

estimate that I will not have a total gross annual payroll for the current 
calendar year of more than $20,000 for all employees, excluding family 
members of the employer. 
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 3. I understand that completion of this Affidavit shall not affect the rights or coverage 
of any person determined to be an employee of the individual completing the affidavit. 
 
 4. I understand that knowingly providing false information on this Affidavit may 
be a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000.00). See 
K.S.A. 44-5,127(d)(1). 
 
  
 5. I understand that I may seek legal advice regarding whether I can lawfully submit 
this Affidavit. 
 
  
 I attest that the statements contained in this Affidavit are true and correct. 
 
 
 
___________________________________   ______________________________ 
Signature       Date 
 
 
 
 
 Subscribed and sworn to before me by ________________________________________ 
         Name of Affiant 
 
on this _________________________ day of _______________, 20____. 
 
 
 
 
      __________________________________________ 
      Signature of Notary Public 
 
 
 
My commission expires: _________________________. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
           May 2025 


